The Arcs, Glen Hansard, and More on KCRW This Week

Upcoming Live Performances on MORNING BECOMES ECLECTIC with host JASON BENTLEY

Tuesday, September 15, On his new side project The Arcs, The Black Keys’ frontman Dan Auerbach satiates his thirst as music maker with a group of hand-picked studio musicians that includes Richard Swift. It’s a special collaboration and we bring you a session recorded live at the Village.

Wednesday, September 16, After finding huge success with the The Swell Season – including an Academy Award — Glen Hansard launched a solo career with the intimate, thoughtful songs that have always defined his work. We bring you highlights from a live session recorded at Apogee Studio.

Monday, September 21, Danish art rockers Mew are back with their first album in six years. Their signature sound is a powerful mix of prog rock, shoe gaze, psychedelia and pop, all buoyed by singer Jonas Bjerre’s distinctive falsetto.

Wednesday, September 23, Roots-rocker Brandi Carlile presents her deeply emotive songs with an electrifying intensity on her latest album. It’s a career highlight and we welcome her in studio to share those songs with us.

Friday, September 25, Kurt Vile joins us on the release day for his latest album “b’lieve i’m goin down”, which was recorded in Los Angeles and Joshua Tree, among other locations. It’s his most introspective, candid and confident release yet and we’re happy to have the Philly rocker make his MBE debut.

KCRW.com PRESENTS:

Tues, Oct 13, Panda Bear at Bowery Ballroom

KCRW PRESENTS:

Fri, September 18, Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals at the Greek Theatre
Sun, September 20, KCRW’s World Festival returns with performances by Empire of the Sun and St. Lucia at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Anne Litt
Thurs, September 24, Future Islands at the Fox Theatre Pomona
Sun, September 27, KCRW’s World Festival features Grace Jones and Future Islands at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Jason Bentley
Tues, September 29, Gary Numan performs “Replicas” at the Teragram Ballroom
Wed, September 30, Silversun Pickups at the Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery
Sat, October 3, Supersonico with Aterciopelados, Ximena Sariñana, Kinky, Mariachi El Bronx and more at the Hollywood Palladium and Grounds
Sat, October 3, Hiatus Kaiyote at the El Rey Theatre
Sun, October 4, Hiatus Kaiyote at the El Rey
Thurs, October 8 – Sat, October 10, Culture Collide at Various Venues in Echo Park
Fri, October 9, Paul Weller at the Fox Theatre Pomona
Sat, October 10 and Sun, October 11, CRSSD Festival with TV on the Radio, The Flaming Lips, Jamie XX, Todd Terje, Panda Bear, Big Data and more at Waterfront Park in San Diego
Sat, October 10, Jr. Jr at the Teragram Ballroom
Tues, October 13, Patrick Watson at the Teragram Ballroom
Tues, October 13, Buena Vista Social Club at the Granada Theater in Santa Barbara
Wed, October 14, Kurt Vile and the Violators at the Fonda
Sat, October 17, Twin Shadow at the Fonda
Sun, October 18, Lianne La Havas at House of Blues Anaheim
Tues, October 20, Heartless Bastards at the Glass House in Pomona
Thurs, October 22, Heartless Bastards at the Fonda
Sat, October 24, Sufjan Stevens at the Arlington Theatre in Santa Barbara
Sun, October 25, Toro y Moi at Pappy and Harriet’s
Wed, October 28, Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings at Campbell Hall at UCSB
Wed, November 4, of Montreal at the Regent Theatre
Sat, November 7, El Vy at the Troubadour
Sun, November 8, El Vy at the Troubadour
Thurs, November 19, Kronos Quartet at Campbell Hall at UCSB
Thurs, December 3, Pink Martini Holiday Show at the Arlington Theatre in Santa Barbara
Sat, December 5, !!! (Chk Chk Chk) at SOhO Music Club in Santa Barbara
Mon, December 7, Beach House at the Observatory
Thurs, December 10, Kamasi Washington at Club Nokia
Fri, March 4, 2016, Lucinda Williams at Royce Hall
Wed, March 9, Rosanne Cash at Campbell Hall at UCSBFri, September 18 , Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals at the Greek Theatre

MBE-image