Dawes, Robert Plant, Villagers, Patrick Watson, John Cusack and More on KCRW Next Week

Upcoming Live Performances on MORNING BECOMES ECLECTIC with host JASON BENTLEY

Tuesday, June 2, 50 years into his career, Robert Plant shows no signs of slowing down. After many successful collaborations, the former Led Zeppelin vocalist returned to his native England to re-examine his place as a songwriter and released last year’s solo effort “Lullaby and…The Ceaseless Roar”. KCRW DJ Liza Richardson caught up with the singer and we’ll bring you that conversation at 10am.

Wednesday, June 3, They’ve toured as Robbie Robertson’s backing band, spent a summer on the road with Bob Dylan, and are part of a renaissance in L.A.’s legendary Laurel Canyon folk-rock scene. The brother-led band known as Dawes just released their 4th full length album and join us in the studio for a live session.

Thursday, June 4, Conor O’Brien aka Villagers strikes an emotional chord with his simple and seductive music. Though Conor played every instrument on the new album “Darling Arithmetic”, a trio will bring it to life in our studio.

Friday, June 5, Actor John Cusack stars as Brian Wilson in a biopic about The Beach Boy’s singer called Love & Mercy. John immersed himself in the “Smile” sessions to prepare for the role and talks to us about the genius of Brian’s work and shares some of his favorite tracks at 10am.

Friday, June 5, A beguiling artist and prolific film-score composer Patrick Watson joins us to share songs from his new album.

Monday, June 8, It’s a Tenacious D takeover! Jack Black and Kyle Gass join us at 10am to announce the 2015 Festival Supreme lineup and start some musical mischief.

Also on Monday, June 8, Argentinian-born, Brooklyn-based songstress Tei Shi’s songs have been described as everything from “bedroom music” and “mermaid rock” to “future pop” and “alt-R&B”. We get a taste of her most recent EP when she joins us for a session hosted by DJ Travis Holcombe.

Tuesday, June 9, Alex Kapranos of acclaimed Scottish band Franz Ferdinand and brothers Ron & Russell Mael of legendary LA art rockers Sparks joined forces for a project called FFS. DJ Eric J Lawrence chats with the trio about how the collaboration came out and we hear a few exclusive live tracks.

Wednesday, June 10, Seinabo Sey grew up in Sweden and the small West African country of Gambia. You can hear influences from both in her music. She’ll share songs from her forthcoming full length.

KCRW.com PRESENTS:

Tues, Oct 13, Panda Bear at Bowery Ballroom

KCRW PRESENTS:

Saturday, May 30, Chromeo & The Glitch Mob at the Santa Barbara Bowl
Saturday, May 30, Spoon at The Wiltern
Friday, June 5, Hanni El Khatib, Avid Dancer, and Chicano Batman, with a DJ set from Raul Campos, at First Fridays at the Natural History Museum
Friday, June 5, Villagers at The Echo
Saturday, June 6, MAKE MUSIC PASADENA with live performances by How To Dress Well, Hundred Waters, Nick Waterhouse and more in Downtown Pasadena
Saturday, June 6, DeLux at One Colorado in Old Pasadena
Tuesday, June 9, Seinabo Sey at the El Rey
Saturday & Sunday, June 13-14, Splash House at Hacienda Day Club, The Saguaro & Hilton Palm Springs with Cashmere Cat, Justin Jay, RAC (DJ set), Viceroy & more
Friday, June 19, Surfer Blood at The Troubadour
Saturday, June 20, Cayucas at One Colorado in Old Pasadena
Sunday, June 21, KCRW’s World Festival features Underworld and Jungle at the Hollywood Bowl
Friday, June 26, Vetiver at The Troubadour
Saturday, June 27, Vetiver at Pappy and Harriet’s
Sunday, June 28, KCRW’s World Festival features Basement Jaxx and Bootsy Collins and the Rubber Band plus Tuxedo at the Hollywood Bowl
Saturday, July 4, Nick Waterhouse at Pappy & Harriet’s
Thursday, July 09, Morris Day & The Time + Dâm Funk — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Friday, July 10, Active Child at Cathedral Sanctuary at Immanuel Presbyterian
Thursday, July 16, Real Estate + Hippo Campus — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Thursday, July 23, ¡Cubanismo! — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Friday, July 24, Penguin Prison at the Roxy
Monday, July 27, The Kills at the El Rey Theatre
Tuesday, July 28, The Kills at The Glass House in Pomona
Thursday, July 30, JD McPherson + Sarah Gayle Meech — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Thursday, August 6, Django Django at The Mayan
Thursday, August 6, Unknown Mortal Orchestra at The Roxy
Thursday, August 06, Australia Rocks The Pier — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Sat & Sun, Aug 8-9, Splash House at Hacienda Day Club, The Saguaro & Hilton Palm Springs with Cassian, Com Truise, Goldroom (DJ set), Tokimonsta & more
Tuesday, August 11, Hot Chip at The Greek Theater
Thursday, August 13, Sister Nancy + Jesse Royal — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Sunday, August 16, KCRW’s World Festival returns with Reggae Night featuring Bob Marley’s Roots Rock Reggae – a 70th Birthday Celebration with Ziggy Marley and Stephen Marley, Inner Circle and The Skatalites at the Hollywood Bowl
Thursday, August 20, Ariel Pink + The Mynabirds — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Thursday, August 27, Jefferson Starship + Purple Mountains Majesties — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Sunday, August 30, KCRW’s World Festival returns with Moses Sumney opening for St. Vincent and Erykah Badu at the Hollywood Bowl
Thursday, September 03, Rebirth Brass Band + Miles Mosley And The West Coast Get Down — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Thursday, September 10, TBA — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Sunday, September 20, KCRW’s World Festival returns with performances by Empire of the Sun and St. Lucia at the Hollywood Bowl
Thursday, September 24, Future Islands at the Fox Theatre Pomona
Sunday, September 27, KCRW’s World Festival returns with performances from Grace Jones and Future Islands at the Hollywood Bowl
Friday, October 9, Paul Weller at the Fox Theatre Pomona
Tuesday, October 20, Heartless Bastards at the Glass House in Pomona

MBE-image