Bilal, Jaga Jazzist, Surfer Blood, Cayucas and More on KCRW This Week

Upcoming Live Performances on MORNING BECOMES ECLECTIC with host JASON BENTLEY

Tuesday, June 16, The long-running Norwegian jazz collective Jaga Jazzist have been experimenting with sounds for two decades and truly sound like no other band. Their latest effort “Starfire” is filled with otherworldly sounds that they will bring to our studio for a live set, with Garth Trinidad as guest host.

Wednesday, June 17, Soul crusader Bilal shines a light on today’s sociopolitical environment on his new album. The classically trained singer from Philadelphia is planning a one of a kind performance for KCRW, guest hosted by Anthony Valadez. Don’t miss it!

Thursday, June 18, Surfer Blood’s latest album marks a return to the bands DIY ethos. They hunkered down in the living room of drummer Tyler Schwarz’ parents’ house to recapture the exuberance of their early recordings and we’ll welcome them to our basement for a live session with guest host Anne Litt.

Friday, June 19, Cayucas’ debut of sun-kissed jangly pop earned them a huge following and they are back with a confident set of new tunes that add feelings of nostalgia and, at times, melancholy into their catchy sound. DJ Raul Campos guest hosts.

Tuesday, June 23, De Lux have concocted the perfect mix of disco, post-punk and funk on their sophomore album, “Generation”. They have a knack for catchy, danceable tracks and we welcome them in the studio for a live set.

Thursday, June 25 We’re always excited about a new record from Vetiver’s Andy Cabic. He composed “Complete Strangers” to the rhythm of his own footsteps as he walked the streets of San Francisco, but recorded the album here in LA. He’ll return to share the new tracks with us.

Friday, June 26, Joy Williams is best known as one half of the Grammy-winning duo The Civil Wars. They parted ways last year and Joy is stepping out on her own with a solo album that is both powerful and personal, addressing the split, motherhood and more.

KCRW.com PRESENTS:

Tues, Oct 13, Panda Bear at Bowery Ballroom

KCRW PRESENTS:

Fri, June 19, Surfer Blood at The Troubadour
Sat, June 20, Cayucas at One Colorado in Old Pasadena
Sun, June 21, KCRW’s World Festival features Underworld and Jungle at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Jason Bentley
Tues, June 23, PPL MVR at Los Globos
Fri, June 26, Vetiver at The Troubadour
Sat, June 27, Vetiver at Pappy and Harriet’s
Sun, June 28, KCRW’s World Festival features Basement Jaxx and Bootsy Collins and the Rubber Band plus Tuxedo at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Chris Douridas
Sat, July 4, Nick Waterhouse at Pappy & Harriet’s
Thurs, July 09, Morris Day & The Time + Dâm Funk — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Fri, July 10, Active Child at Cathedral Sanctuary at Immanuel Presbyterian
Thurs, July 16, Real Estate + Hippo Campus — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa  Monica Pier
Thurs, July 23, ¡Cubanismo! — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa  Monica Pier
Fri, July 24, Penguin Prison at the Roxy
Sat, July 25, TV on the Radio and Boxed in at Sound in Focus in Century Park, hosted by Jason Bentley
Mon, July 27, The Kills at the El Rey Theatre
Tues, July 28, The Kills at The Glass House in Pomona
Thurs, July 30, JD McPherson + Sarah Gayle Meech — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Sat, August 1, De La Soul and Quantic at Sound in Focus in Century Park, hosted by Garth Trinidad
Thurs, August 6, Django Django at The Mayan
Thurs, August 6, Unknown Mortal Orchestra at The Roxy
Thurs, August 6, Australia Rocks The Pier — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa  Monica Pier
Sat, August 8, Dwight Yoakam and X at Sound in Focus in Century Park, hosted by Anne Litt
Sat & Sun, August 8-9, Splash House at Hacienda Day Club, The Saguaro & Hilton Palm Springs with Cassian, Com Truise, Goldroom (DJ set), Tokimonsta & more
Tues, August 11, Hot Chip at The Greek Theater
Thurs, August 13, Sister Nancy + Jesse Royal — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Sat, August 15, Cold War Kids and Other Lives at Sound in Focus in Century Park, hosted by Jason Bentley
Sun, August 16, KCRW’s World Festival features Reggae Night featuring Bob Marley’s Roots Rock Reggae – a 70th Birthday Celebration with Ziggy Marley and Stephen Marley, Inner Circle and The Skatalites at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Jeremy Sole
Thurs, August 20, Ariel Pink + The Mynabirds — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Thurs, August 20, Savages at Pappy & Harriet’s in Pioneertown
Thurs, August 27, Jefferson Starship + Purple Mountains Majesties — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa Monica Pier
Sun, August 30,  KCRW’s World Festival features Moses Sumney opening for St. Vincent and Erykah Badu at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Garth Trinidad
Thurs, September 03, Rebirth Brass Band + Miles Mosley And The West Coast Get Down — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa  Monica Pier
Thurs, September 10, TBA — Twilight Concert Series at the Santa  Monica Pier
Sun, September 20, KCRW’s World Festival returns with performances by Empire of the Sun and St. Lucia at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Anne Litt
Thurs, September 24, Future Islands at the Fox Theatre Pomona
Sun, September 27, KCRW’s World Festival features Grace Jones and Future Islands at the Hollywood Bowl – hosted by Jason Bentley
Fri, October 9, Paul Weller at the Fox Theatre Pomona
Tues, October 13, Patrick Watson at the Teragram Ballroom
Tues, October 20, Heartless Bastards at the Glass House in Pomona

MBE-image