Young Fathers, Jessie Baylin and More on KCRW This Week

Upcoming Live Performances on MORNING BECOMES ECLECTIC with host JASON BENTLEY

Tuesday, May 26, Scottish hip hop outfit Young Fathers received one of the UK’s highest honors for music — the Mercury Prize – for their debut release. We’re thrilled to have them in the studio to share songs from their excellent follow up in a session hosted by DJ Anthony Valadez.

Thursday, May 28, Nashville-based singer/songwriter Jessie Baylin teamed up with super producer Richard Swift to craft a set of seductive pop songs as we’ll hear in this live session hosted by DJ Chris Douridas.

Wednesday, June 3, They’ve toured as Robbie Robertson’s backing band, spent a summer on the road with Bob Dylan, and are part of a renaissance in L.A.’s legendary Laurel Canyon folk-rock scene. The brother-led band known as Dawes just released their 4th full length album and join us in the studio for a live session.

Thursday, June 4, Conor O’Brien aka Villagers strikes an emotional chord with his simple and seductive music. Though Conor played every instrument on the new album “Darling Arithmetic”, a trio will bring it to life in our studio.

Friday, June 5, A beguiling artist and prolific film-score composer, Patrick Watson joins us to share songs from his new album.

KCRW PRESENTS

Saturday, May 30, Chromeo & The Glitch Mob at the Santa Barbara Bowl
Saturday, May 30, Spoon at The Wiltern
Friday, June 5, Hanni El Khatib, Avid Dancer, and Chicano Batman, with a DJ set from Raul Campos, at First Fridays at the Natural History Museum
Friday, June 5, Villagers at The Echo
Saturday, June 6, MAKE MUSIC PASADENA with live performances by How To Dress Well, Hundred Waters, Nick Waterhouse and more in Downtown Pasadena
Saturday, June 6, DeLux at One Colorado in Old Pasadena
Tues, June 9, Seinabo Sey at the El Rey
Sat & Sun, June 13-14, Splash House at Hacienda Day Club, The Saguaro & Hilton Palm Springs with Cashmere Cat, Justin Jay, RAC (DJ set), Viceroy & more
Friday, June 19, Surfer Blood at The Troubadour
Saturday, June 20, Cayucas at One Colorado in Old Pasadena
Sunday, June 21, KCRW’s World Festival features Underworld and Jungle at the Hollywood Bowl
Friday, June 26, Vetiver at The Troubadour
Saturday, June 27, Vetiver at Pappy and Harriet’s
Sunday, June 28, KCRW’s World Festival features Basement Jaxx and Bootsy Collins and the Rubber Band plus Tuxedo at the Hollywood Bowl
Sat, July 4, Nick Waterhouse at Pappy & Harriet’s
Friday, July 10, Active Child at Cathedral Sanctuary at Immanuel Presbyterian
Friday, July 24, Penguin Prison at the Roxy
Monday, July 27, The Kills at the El Rey Theatre
Tuesday, July 28, The Kills at The Glass House in Pomona
Thursday, August 6, Django Django at The Mayan
Thursday, August 6, Unknown Mortal Orchestra at The Roxy
Sat & Sun, Aug 8-9, Splash House at Hacienda Day Club, The Saguaro & Hilton Palm Springs with Cassian, Com Truise, Goldroom (DJ set), Tokimonsta & more
Tuesday, August 11, Hot Chip at The Greek Theater
Sunday, August 16, KCRW’s World Festival returns with Reggae Night featuring Bob Marley’s Roots Rock Reggae – a 70th Birthday Celebration with Ziggy Marley and Stephen Marley, Inner Circle and The Skatalites at the Hollywood Bowl
Sunday, August 30, KCRW’s World Festival returns with Moses Sumney opening for St. Vincent and Erykah Badu at the Hollywood Bowl
Sunday, September 20, KCRW’s World Festival returns with performances by Empire of the Sun and St. Lucia at the Hollywood Bowl
Thursday, September 24, Future Islands at the Fox Theatre Pomona
Sunday, September 27, KCRW’s World Festival returns with performances from Grace Jones and Future Islands at the Hollywood Bowl
Friday, October 9, Paul Weller at the Fox Theatre Pomona

MBE-image