Vacationer, Jon Hassell, and More on KCRW This Week

Upcoming Live Performances on MORNING BECOMES ECLECTIC with host JASON BENTLEY

Tuesday, July 15, Vacationer has created a perfect soundtrack to summer with their sophomore album “Relief”. The Philadelphia band join us to play the new songs live on Morning Becomes Eclectic at 11:15am.

Wednesday, July 16, L.A. based composer and avant-garde trumpeter Jon Hassell is revered for his minimalist ambient work. We’ll have a rare visit when he brings a trio to perform select pieces for Morning Becomes Eclectic listeners at 11:15am.

Thursday, July 24, Ghanian bred and L.A. based artist Rocky Dawuni spreads a multi-cultural positive vibe on Morning Becomes Eclectic at 11:15am. He performs at The Hammer Museum as part of KCRW’s Summer Nights series.

Friday, July 25, Grammy-Award winning singer/songwriter Shelby Lynne takes a break from recording her new album to visit us on Morning Becomes Eclectic at 11:15am. She’ll enchant listeners before taking the stage at our Country in the City series on Saturday night.

KCRW PRESENTS

Thurs, July 17, An Evening with Rufus and Martha Wainwright at Pappy & Harriet’s
Thurs, July 17, Made In L.A. with artists Alex Ebert and Crash and KCRW DJ Liza Richardson at the Hammer Museum
Thurs, July 17, Twilight Concert Series with Yuna and King hosted by KCRW DJ Anthony Valadez on the Santa Monica Pier
Fri, July 18, Grand Performances with The Fela! Band hosted by Dan Wilcox at the California Plaza
Fri, July 18, Rufus and Martha Wainwright (indoor show) at Pappy & Harriet’s
Sat, July 19, KCRW DJ Anne Litt hosts Gregg Allman and Sturgill Simpson as part of Country in the City at Century Park in Century City.
Sun, July 20, KCRW’s World Festival features Reggae Night XIII featuring Jimmy Cliff, Shaggy, Don Carlos and the Dub Vision Band at the Hollywood Bowl
Wed, July 23, Film: “No Cameras Allowed” at The Wiltern
Thurs, July 24, Twilight Concert Series with Cayucas and Papa hosted by KCRW DJ Chris Muckley on the Santa Monica Pier
Thurs, July 24, Made In L.A. with DJ Glenn Red and Rocky Dawuni plus KCRW DJ Jeremy Sole at the Hammer Museum
Sat, July 26, KCRW DJ Chris Douridas hosts Shelby Lynne and Jamestown Revival as part of Country in the City at Century Park in Century City
Thurs, July 31, Made In L.A. with DEEP DJs Marques Wyatt and Doc Martin plus KCRW DJ Raul Campos at the Hammer Museum
Thurs, July 31, Twilight Concert Series with Omar Souleyman hosted by KCRW DJ Aaron Byrd on the Santa Monica Pier
Sat, August 2, Grand Performances with People Get Ready hosted by Anthony Valadez at the California Plaza
Sat, August 2, KCRW DJ Gary Calamar hosts Wynonna & The Big Noise and Nikki Lane as part of Country in the City at Century Park in Century City
Thurs, August 7, Twilight Concert Series with Jagwar Ma hosted by Jason Bentley on the Santa Monica Pier
Fri, August 8, Grand Performances with Los Dos Marks—DJ Numark and Mark de Clive-Lowe– hosted by Anthony Valadez at the California Plaza
Fri, August 8 through Sun, August 10, Splash House with DJ sets by Flume, Cut Copy (live), Bag Raiders, Chromeo, Them Jeans, A-Track, Jagwar Ma, Nosaj Thing, KCRW’s Jason Bentley and more at the Hacienda Beach Club, Hard Rock Hotel and The Saguaro Hotel
Sat, August 9, Chinatown Summer Nights with KCRW DJs Raul Campos and Anthony Valadez at Chinatown Central and West Plazas
Sun, August 10, KCRW’s World Festival features Glen Hansard and Iron & Wine at the Hollywood Bowl
Thurs, August 14, Twilight Concert Series with La Santa Cecilia and Sergio Mendoza hosted by KCRW DJ Raul Campos on the Santa Monica Pier
Thurs, August 14, Foxygen at Fonda Theatre
Sat, August 16, The Pacific Festival at The Newport Dunes Resort and Marina
Thurs, August 21, Twilight Concert Series with The Zombies and Mystic Braves hosted by KCRW DJ Dan Wilcox on the Santa Monica Pier
Thurs, August 28, Twilight Concert Series with Lee “Scratch” Perry and Mexico 68 hosted by KCRW DJ Jeremy Sole on the Santa Monica Pier
Fri, September 5, Grand Performances with DahkaBrakha/Carmen Rizzo hosted by Anne Litt at the California Plaza
Sat, September 6, Grand Performances with Yuna hosted by Raul Campos at the California Plaza
Thurs, September 11, Twilight Concert Series with Charles Bradley and King James & The Special Men on the Santa Monica Pier
Sat, September 13, Porter Robinson at the Shrine Expo Hall
Thurs, September 18, Fatboy Slim with Nervo at the Shrine Expo Hall
Sat, September 20, Jose James at the Troubadour
Sun, September 21, KCRW’s World Festival features Caetano Veloso, Andrew Bird, Devendra Banhart and DJ Frosty at the Hollywood Bowl
Sun, September 21, Meshell Ndegeocello at the El Rey Theatre
Sun, September 28, KCRW’s World Festival features the Pixies, Gogol Bordello, and Cat Power at the Hollywood Bowl
Wed, October 1, The War on Drugs at the Glass House in Pomona
Thurs, October 2, DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist at the House of Blues in Anaheim
Thurs, October 2, Nick Waterhouse at the Mayan Theatre
Fri, October 3, DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist at the Hollywood Palladium.
Sat, October 4, Angélique Kidjo at UCSB’s Campbell Hall
Sat, October 4, Com Truise at the El Rey Theatre
Sat, October 4 and Sun, October 5, Glass Animals at the Troubadour
Fri, October 10, Bahamas at the Roxy
Wed, October 15, The Horrors at the Mayan
Wed, October 15, The New Pornographers with Neko Case at Pappy & Harriet’s in Pioneertown
Thurs, October 16, Massive Attack at the Greek Theatre
Thurs, October 16, of Montreal at the Mayan
Fri, October 17, Massive Attack at the Santa Barbara Bowl
Tues, October 21, Banks at Wiltern
Fri, October 24, Dale Earnhardt Jr Jr at the Regent Theater
Sat, October 25, Tennis at the Troubadour
Sun, October 26, Tinariwen at UCSB’s Campbell Hall

 

mbepicksimage