Teddy Thompson, Brett Dennen and More on KCRW

Upcoming Live Performances on MORNING BECOMES ECLECTIC with host JASON BENTLEY

Monday, April 4, Teddy Thompson has a musical pedigree that gets your attention immediately – as the son of folk legends Richard and Linda Thompson — but it’s his soaring voice that won our hearts. Chris Douridas hosted a special session recorded at Apogee Berkeley St. Studios in front of a live audience which will air on Morning Becomes Eclectic at 11:15am.

Thursday, April 14, Brett Dennen’s star has been rising steadily since his debut but we think it’s time for the whole world to take notice of his expert pop songcraft. With an upbeat take on music – and life – his music is a jolt of joy and we’ll hear new songs live on Morning Becomes Eclectic at 11:15am.

Friday, April 15, Elbow’s previous performance on Morning Becomes Eclectic is one of Jason Bentley’s all time favorites since he has hosted the show and we are thrilled to welcome the UK band back into the studio to hear tracks from their new album live. They return on the eve of their Coachella performance for an intimate session at 11:15am.

Monday, April 18, Cage The Elephant revived our faith in gut-grabbing rock ‘n’roll with their debut and are back with a second album that is just as electric. Morning Becomes Eclectic listeners will be treated to a full set at 11:15am.

Tuesday, April 19, Sibling-led local band The Belle Brigade prevailed at SXSW this year with a melodic mix that echoes Fleetwood Mac and the Everly Brothers. We’ll celebrate their debut release with a live performance on Morning Becomes Eclectic at 11:15am.

Wednesday, April 20, The National‘s 2010 release “High Violet” made many Top 10 lists and was featured on just about every music show here at KCRW. We’ll hear live versions of the stunning album on Morning Becomes Eclectic at 11:15am.

KCRW.COM PRESENTS

Saturday, April 9, The Clift Sessions featuring Twin Sister at The Redwood Room and Velvet Room in San Francisco.
Friday, April 22, The Clift Sessions featuring fun. at The Redwood Room and Velvet Room in San Francisco.

KCRW PRESENTS IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

Fri, April 1,
First Fridays at the Natural History Museum, featuring Ceci Bastida.
Wed, April 6, Pete Yorn at the Wiltern Theatre.
Fri, April 8, The Mondrian Sessions featuring Twin Sister at Skybar at Mondrian Hotel.
Sun, April 10, Pete Yorn at the House of Blues in Anaheim.
Wed, April 13, Bright Eyes at the Fox Theatre in Pomona.
Fri, April 15, Exene Cervenka at the Hotel Café.
Fri, April 29, Sean Rowe at the Bootleg Theatre.
Fri, April 29, Jessica Lea Mayfield at the Troubadour.
Sat, April 30, The Boxer Rebellion at the Roxy.
Sun, May 1, Hauschka at the Masonic Lodge at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery.
Fri, May 6, First Fridays at the Natural History Museum, featuring Cat’s Eyes and Crystal Stilts.
Fri, May 6, Junip at the El Rey Theatre.
Sat, May 7, Fleet Foxes at the Hollywood Palladium.
Thurs, May 12, Femi Kuti and the Positive Force at the El Rey Theatre.
Fri, May 13, The Kills at the Music Box.
Sat, May 14, The Kills at the Fox Theatre in Pomona.
Sat, May 14, Peter, Bjorn and John at the El Rey Theatre.
Sat, May 14, Of Montreal at the Avalon.
Sat, May 21, Aloe Blacc at the Detroit Bar in Costa Mesa.
Sun, May 22, Aloe Blacc at the Music Box.
Fri, May 27, Dustin O ’Halloran at the Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever.
Sat, May 28, Black Dub at the Music Box.
Tues, May 31, Lykke Li at the Wiltern.
Fri, June 3, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. at the Echo.
Tues, June 7, Anna Calvi at the Troubadour.
Fri, June 10, Friendly Fires at the Music Box.
Sat, June 11, Jenny & Johnny at the Music Box.
Mon, June 13, The Civil Wars at Largo at the Coronet.
Thurs, June 16, Youssou N ’Dour with Angelique Kidjo at the Greek Theatre.
Sat, June 18, Brett Dennen at the Orpheum Theatre.
Wed, June 22, My Morning Jacket at the Pantages Theatre.
Sun, June 26, KCRW’s World Festival at the Hollywood Bowl: Big In Japan featuring Yellow Magic Orchestra, Cibo Matto, Towa Tei, Buffalo Daughter and Taiko Center of Los Angeles. At the Hollywood Bowl.
Sun, July 10, KCRW’s World Festival at the Hollywood Bowl: Journey to India featuring film composer A.R. Rahman and the Los Angeles Philharmonic with special guest Shreya Ghoshal.
Sun, July 24, KCRW’s World Festival at the Hollywood Bowl: Global Soul featuring musical director Rickey Minor bringing together Stevie Wonder and friends, Janelle Monáe, Grace Potter, Rocky Dawuni, Ceci Bastida and Bombino—plus a tribute to Marvin Gaye’s classic recording What’s Going On.
Sun, July 31, KCRW’s World Festival at the Hollywood Bowl: Reggae Night X featuring Tuff Gong Worldwide & Ziggy Marley salute legends of reggae with special guests Toots Hibbert, Mighty Diamonds, Ras Michael.
Sun, August 28, KCRW’s World Festival at the Hollywood Bowl: Serge Gainsbourg Tribute with Jean Claude Vannier and the Hollywood Bowl Orchestra; plus special guests Beck, Ed Droste (Grizzly Bear), Victoria Legrand (Beach House), Sean Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl (The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger), China Forbes (Pink Martini), Mike Patton (Faith No More) and Nika Roza Danilova (Zola Jesus).
Sun, September 11, KCRW’s World Festival at the Hollywood Bowl with The National, Neko Case and Sharon Van Etten.