New Song From Mixtape Master Theophilus London

Last year, KCRW DJ Anthony Valadez proclaimed his love for Brooklyn rapper, songwriter and producer Theophilus London after the release of his “This Charming Mixtape,” citing his unique “mash up of 90’s techno drum beats, indie rock attitude, and dark synth sounds with a twist of  80’s hip hop symbolism and aesthetics.”

Theophilus’ debut full length is set for a Spring release and, in the meantime, he’s putting out the Lovers Holiday EP on February 8, featuring “Why Even Try” with vocals by Sara Quin of Tegan & Sara. Stream it below and go here for a free download.

He says the EP “documents what live is in 2011.”  Interested to hear the whole thing!

Lovers Holiday EP Tracklisting

  1. Why Even Try (Ft. Sara Quin)
  2. Strange Love
  3. Girls Girls $
  4. Wine And Chocolates
  5. Flying Overseas (Ft. Solange Knowles)


p.s.: The artist dropped by KCRW’s studios last year to perform “Groove Me” with Maximum Balloon, a solo project from TV on the Radio’s Dave Sitek. Below is a video for his track “Humdrum Town.”



  1. @BetsyKCRW
    February 4, 2011, 7:31 pm

    Yeah!!! Listenin today, and loving!!!

    I saw Theophilus London perform in the lobby of the Standard at a kick-off party for the Culture Collide last fall. He was already a sensation in blogggggerland, so fellow AudoMuffin authors and I went to get a live dose of the hype. I fell in love w/ the performance. Theophilus, sweating it out in a long silk shirt, wreckless abandon with 1 drumstick and cowbell and laptop. Such a fun performance. I'm really excited about this EP!

  2. billy
    January 30, 2011, 3:37 am

    So good! I've had "Why Even Try" on constant repeat since I grabbed it yesterday and it just keeps getting better. Can't wait for the new EP and full-length.